Kronosaurus Korner Kronosaurus Korner

The Centre is a “must see” for every visitor travelling Australia’s Dinosaur Trail. “Australia’s  most exciting fossil display” is primarily dedicated to displaying marine reptiles. 

Although 500km from the ocean today Richmond was once the heart of the Ancient Inland Sea.  One hundred million years later, scores of marine fossils have been unearthed in the surrounding rugged landscape.  Kids will love Krono Kids Club, so why not take the experience home with you. 

Visit  for further information.

Free Fossicking Sites Free Fossicking Sites

After exploring our Prehistoric World at Kronosaurus Korner, we have the ideal place for you to visit. The fossicking sites are approximately 12 km to the north of Richmond and are easily accessible to all vehicles. 

You don't require any digging tools- in fact most people don't have any equipment and still manage to make  wonderful finds. Some of the fossils that are found in the area include belemnites, fish bones and scales, inoceramus shells and shark teeth. Fossickers are reminded that you are more than welcome to bring your discoveries back to Kronosaurus Korner for identification.


For more information contact the friendly staff at Kronosaurus Korner on 1300 KRONOK.

Richmond Fossicking Sites Map (100KB)    

Richmond Fossicking Guide (390KB)


Lake Fred Tritton Lake Fred Tritton


  • Maximum depth is 8m averaging 4.5m deep
  • Capacity is approximately 314 mega litres of water
  • Construction of Lake Fred Tritton began November 2002, completed in February 2003 –   Using local contractors
  • Named after the late Fred Tritton, former Mayor and local grazier
  • Official opening May 2004  
The site where Lake Fred Tritton was constructed was originally a mass of gullies and one of the less attractive parts of the town. 
In 2004 Lake Fred Tritton won the State and National Heart Foundation Awards for offering a better quality of life for people living in rural communities. The lake has provided Richmond locals and visitors the opportunity to participate in water sports such as fishing, skiing, canoeing and jet skiing - not normally found in small remote inland communities. 
The lake boasts sandy beaches, shaded playground facilities, water park, paved walking track, free BBQ facilities and clean amenities.
The initial water used to fill the lake was pumped out of the Flinders River whilst it was in flood. Today it is kept topped up via a sphere point to the river, as required. 
The lake is stocked with over 18 species of fish by the Richmond Fish Stocking Association and monitored by the Department of Primary Industries & Fisheries. Species include red claw yabbies, barramundi, sooty grunter, sleepy cod, archer fish, forktail catfish and golf grunter. 
Funding of the lake was sponsored by the Richmond Shire Council in partnership with the Queensland Government Major Recreational Facilities Funding program.


Bush Tucker Garden Bush Tucker Garden

 Situated on the banks of award winning Lake Fred Tritton this garden is a joint project involving the Richmond Shire Council as well as the local indigenous and non-indigenous community and the dedication of the CDEP workers. 

All plants are native to the region and are labelled with their traditional purposes, helping to promote the educational aspects of indigenous culture.

The garden’s waterfall represents the birthplace of Richmond’s water flowing from the basalt country to the white gravel.  Gidgee stones and moonrocks complete the gardens.

The Bush Tucker Garden was a finalist in the Indigenous Category at the 2008 Banksia Environmental Awards.

 Bush Tucker Gardens Plant List (584KB)

Heritage Trail Walk Heritage Trail Walk

 If stepping back in time is more your scene, then take a stroll down our Heritage Walk.  The best way to learn about previous culture and tradition is to set off and take a walk through history.

The Heritage Trail Walk begins at the Caravan Park and continues the full lenght of Goldring Street. Visit the sites of Cordial Factory, Newspaper Printers and Open Air Theatre.

The newest addition to the Heritage Walk is the Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre. 

Richmond Heritage Walk Map (922KB)

Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre

Step back in time and discover the story of Richmond and the surrounding area over the past 150 years. The much anticipated Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre was officially opened on 23rd May 2009. 

Built from local flagstone rock the Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre is a replica of the original Cambridge Downs Homestead built in the late 1860’s. 
The Richmond Shire Council are conscious that the historical and cultural background of our unique history was in danger of being lost in a rapidly changing world and the replica will provide a location for the display of local records and artifacts. It is hoped that the Centre will grow as residents; both past and present offer other exhibits.
The Cambridge Downs Heritage Display Centre Gardens have been created using the following herbs and roses:English tea roses x 20, Lawn Chamomile x 150, Lavender x 30, Climbing black boy rose x 2, White Jasmine x 2, Mandarin Tree, Rosemary x 10, Garlic Chives x 20, Thyme x 10, Oregano x 10, Basil x 10, Nasturtium x 10, Evening Primrose x 5 & Chives x 20


Cambridge Ruin Cambridge Ruin

 40km from Richmond, along the Croydon Road, Cambridge Crossing is an intersection of road with the Stawell River.  To the left and just before this crossing, are the ruins that remind us of the history attached to the Cambridge Downs homestead.

 In the Mid 1860’s this original building was a fine example of the architectural resourcefulness of the Western Pioneers, and here sprang a busy rural outpost where man and beast carved out a new frontier.
These crude building blocks, gathered from the surrounding Downs, made an Australian Frontier version of the Englishman’s castle. There was military significance to this flagstone structure with a thatched roof, stone walls that would not be easily breached and the windows had iron bars to help defend against Aboriginal attacks. The sitting of the homestead, well out on a clear flat 300 meters away from the wooded Cambridge Creek, is supporting evidence of the Pioneer’s defense strategy. 

The main building was linked by a passageway to a store room and office. The cookhouse with a big clay oven was out the back. Lawns, citrus trees and grape vines flourished. There were several other buildings; these included a Jackaroo’s quarters (with their own cook and housemaid), Ringers quarters, a Butcher shop with two full time Butchers and a Blacksmith Shop.
The Cambridge Downs shearing shed, 3km in the distance was known as the biggest and best equipped Shed in the District with 26 stands. A wood fired mobile steam engine powered the old Cambridge plant. Up to 80 men camped in a string of tents along the bore drain. The shearing shed burnt down twice, as did the Cambridge men’s quarters.


Richmond War Memorial Richmond War Memorial

 The Richmond War Memorial is located at the Jack Browns Lion on the Flinders Highway. The Richmond War Memorial is a unique design, replacing previous Memorial fountain, as the main memorial in Richmond. Symbolising a stylisation of three rifles marking the graves of three ANZAC soldiers who lost their lives at the battle fo the Somme, France in the Great War. Original wooden crosses on the battlefields were made from artillery shell and ammunition boxes. To signify this fact , the centre of the memorial constitutes a steel cross, that extends beyond the uprights. Dedicated on the 25th April 2001. 

The memorial holds Rolls of Honour for individuals from the Richmond region who served and died in wars. Additionally, there is space for smaller individual remembrance plaques to Veterans. There are tri-service and additional badges to respresent all the forces on the three struts.

Conflicts commemorated: South Africa War, 1899-1902,First World War, 1914-1918,Second World War, 1939-1945,Malayan Emergency, 1948-1960,Korean War, 1950-1953,Indonesian Confrontation 1962-66 &Vietnam War, 1962-1972
The Jack Brown Lions Park also contains a number of guns and war trophies that have been preserved to complement the main memorial.

Pioneer Cemetry Pioneer Cemetry

Richmond Pioneer Cemetery is located off the Flinders Highway on the western side of town, immediately after crossing the railway line. The Richmond Pioneer Cemetery displays inscriptions dating from 1886 to 1921. Unfortunately, only about 30 or so headstones remain from around 300 burials. In some cases the broken segments have been reassembled and laid flat, in others they have been repaired and remounted.  

However, exhibited on the site are panels listing all known burials at this location. We found a few variations between the data posted, the headstone inscriptions and the Queensland deaths register, but this is to be expected in the transcription of old handwritten records.

The cemetery is fenced on three sides and maintained by Richmond Shire Council.
Alist all inscriptions for this cemetery can be viewed by clicking on the link below. This list was compiled withreference to the Queensland indices of births, deaths and marriages.